Oceania Vacation Rentals
Browse Travel Guides Destinations Get Ready Get There Weather Advertiser Login

Home : OceaniaView Your Favorites

Quick Links


Airline Tickets

Cheap Tickets
VIP Fares

Car Rentals



American Express
Auto Accessories
Cars Direct
Disney Store
Giga Golf
InsWeb Insurance

Australia (7)
Fiji (3)
New Zealand (21)


Oceania consists of the more than 25,000 islands and islets of 25 nations and territories. The Pacific Islands total land area is just 1,261,456 sq km.The Pacific Islands are usually divided into three subregions: Melanesia , Micronesia, and Polynesia (.

Melanesia stretches in a 5600-km arc off the northern and eastern coast of Australia. From northwest to southeast, Melanesia includes New Guinea, lying just north of Australia; the Bismarck Archipelago, belonging to Papua New Guinea; smaller archipelagos of Papua New Guinea; the Solomon Islands, some of which belong to Papua New Guinea but most of which are part of the nation of Solomon Islands; the many islands of the nation Vanuatu; the islands of New Caledonia and Dependencies, a French territory; and the Fiji Islands.

The tiny islands and atolls of Micronesia are scattered widely across a large area north of Melanesia and east of Asia. Micronesia has four main island groups. The Caroline Islands lie north of the equator from New Guinea and belong mostly to the Federated States of Micronesia, a self-governing country in free association with the United States. A small portion of the Carolines belongs to Palau, also a self-governing country in free association with the United States. To the north of the Carolines are the Mariana Islands, which make up the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, a self-governing U.S. commonwealth, and Guam, an unincorporated U.S. territory. To the east of the Marianas are the Marshall Islands, an island group and republic in free association with the United States. Southeast of the Marshalls is the nation of Kiribati, which straddles the equator. The tiny nation of Nauru, a single island west of Kiribati, is also counted as part of Micronesia. Micronesia’s islands are so small that their land area totals just 3240 sq km (1250 sq mi).

For More Info See Oceania Travel Guide

Premium Properties
Featured Sponsors

Home | Vacation Rentals | Destinations | Get Ready | Get There | Weather | Search | Terms
Advertise Your Rental | Advertiser Log - In | Trade Links | Contact | FAQ | Subscribe

© 1000 Top Vacation Rentals